Pak vs NZ: Pakistan seek to avoid whitewash in 4th T20I clash today

Spread the love

Pakistan and New Zealand are all set to clash in the fourth Twenty20 International at Hagley Oval in Christchurch today, with visitors stiving to avoid a series whitewash. 

The hosts are aiming for a clean sweep, having already sealed the five-match T20I series with victories in the initial three encounters.

The standout performer for New Zealand, Finn Allen, has been in sensational form, showcasing his explosive batting skills. Allen’s spectacular century in the previous game played a pivotal role in the team’s success, contributing significantly to their total of 224/7 in 20 overs. With a total of 245 runs in the series, Allen leads the run-scoring charts and remains a key player to watch in today’s clash.

The Green Shirts find themselves in a tight spot, having lost the first three matches of the series. The visitors are determined to salvage a victory in the fourth T20I and avoid a series whitewash. Former captain Babar Azam has been a consistent performer with the bat, accumulating 181 runs in the series with impressive half-centuries in all three games.

The Hagley Oval pitch typically favours pacers in the early stages, allowing them to exploit swing during the initial overs. However, as the ball undergoes wear and tear, batters are expected to gain the upper hand against the fast bowlers. Additionally, spinners have an opportunity to take wickets if they can accurately find the optimal length.

Looking at the weather forecast, overcast conditions are expected, but there are no predictions of rain interruptions. This ensures an undisrupted and thoroughly engaging match. 

The temperature is anticipated to hover around 28 degrees Celsius, accompanied by a breeze of 29 km/hr and a humidity level of 48%. These conditions set the stage for an exciting battle between New Zealand and Pakistan, with both teams aiming to achieve their respective goals in this crucial fourth T20I.


New Zealand: Finn Allen, Devon Conway (wk), Kane Williamson (c), Daryl Mitchell, Glenn Phillips, Mark Chapman, Adam Milne, Ish Sodhi, Matt Henry, Tim Southee, Ben Sears, Tim Seifert, Mitchell Santner

Pakistan: Shaheen Shah Afridi (c), Mohammad Rizwan (wk) Aamir Jamal, Abbas Afridi, Azam Khan (wk), Babar Azam, Fakhar Zaman, Haris Rauf, Haseebullah (wk), Iftikhar Ahmed, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Wasim Jr, Sahibzada Farhan, Saim Ayub, Usama Mir and Zaman Khan

Spread the love

Related posts

Leave a Comment